I grew up the oldest of seven children in Northern Quebec. There is a 22-year age gap between my youngest sibling and myself. Growing up I was the big sister; often responsible for looking out for the “young ones” and in many ways this early experience started to shape me into the person I am today.

Leaving home at 17, I went to College in Montreal for two years, studying to become a teacher. In 1970, I found myself on the West Coast first on Vancouver Island and in 1974 I moved to Metro Vancouver. After finishing my B. ED degree at the University of Victoria, I spent many years as a Physical Education teacher and coach and it was during those years that I realized I wanted to be a counsellor. Helping and taking care of people came to me naturally but I quickly realized that that was not enough and I needed training and skills.

I graduated from the University of British Columbia with my Masters in Counselling and spent over twenty years working as a counsellor with youth and their parents in many secondary schools in Coquitlam and Surrey. I found working in the high schools to be very challenging and rewarding. Having the opportunity to help and guide youth and their parents navigate the adolescent years was a privilege and an honour.

It has always been my dream to enter private practice and finally now as a semi-retired educator I am realizing that dream. My many life experiences: divorce, mental burnout, cancer, the loss of my parents and many years as a single parent have taught me patience, resilience, the importance of choice and the need to look at what can be learned from the obstacles that are placed in our paths. I believe that these experiences have helped make me a more empathic and compassionate counsellor. I continue to learn and grow both personally and professionally and I look forward to many more years of continued learning.

I am the very proud mother of two wonderful adult sons who are making their way in the world. My oldest son is a teacher and lives locally. My younger son lives on Long Island, NY and is working in finance. My sons’ were my greatest teachers as they transitioned from adolescents to young men.

I continue to be involved in many sports as a spectator; hockey, lacrosse, basketball and volleyball. I stay fit by walking, yoga, skiing, swimming, golf and cycling.

I am a positive and optimistic person who feels strongly that we can all use our challenges and obstacles to help define our life.


Choice, Chance, Change

You must make the choice,

To take the chance,

If you want anything in

Life to Change

Author Unkown